Do what makes you happy…

Image

Career paths to choose, mortgages to think of, girls you don’t want to speak to, boys you want to fight…

Do what makes you happy…

But when the consequences outweigh the happiness

How do you choose this option?

When you’re so down that the end seems like happiness, does ‘do what makes you happy’ still hold relevance?

When you’re so sad that happiness seems like a distant relative, their face unknown but will bump into you occasionally just to say “I remember you” …How do you recognise happiness?

When that relative tells you that they remember you when you was little but all I can think is that I haven’t seen you lately. You’ve been missing from my life like my dad but is it you?

When sadness is your normal state, it’s a bit far fetched to pray for happiness. Emptiness is the new happy as white is the new black but black never fades, when the chips are down bet on black but is the option even there?

So in the end we pray that happiness prevails through our actions and mistakes because it seems like it’s luck of the draw. So instead of my own, I pray for my mother’s happiness and hope she feels pain no more.

I think this makes me happy…

I think…

Do what makes you happy.

6 thoughts on “Do what makes you happy…

  1. I understand the sentiment behind this post, and the element of debate does come through.
    Which gives it a nice balance, as do the questions you make the reader consider.
    But, and this is a massive but, a lot of parts don’t make and aren’t immediately clear and seem quite muddled.
    This is mainly due to the mismatch of methaphors you try to describe a particular scenario, or state of emotion. Maybe you could have given us a definition of what happiness is aswell.
    Apart from that it’s a intresting and intriguing piece…so keep posting…if it makess you happy

    1. It’s not meant to be clear to be perfectly honest. I did write this very fast but it’s raw which I like. It’s personal to me so unless you’re me or familiar with me, I wouldn’t expect you to fully understand. I think a few of my pieces will be fairly ambiguous. As long as it provokes thought then I’m happy

  2. ‘Emptiness is the new happy as white is the new black but black never fades’
    Provokes thought? Indeed..
    Already from this post you seem like a sentimental person (I know as a guy, sentimental is probably one of the words under ‘101 words not to call a guy…. ever in your life’, but it is a good thing, a very genuine and rare quality to find 🙂 )
    I love exploring people, blogs are one of the best ways to do it – allows ones’ thoughts to just roll off their mind – a release.
    Sometimes it may make sense to some more than others – but that’s what’s so great about blogs, and its what gives it the entertainment value – the intrigue from thought provoking posts like this.

    On that note, would love to read more. It’s been a while since you last posted… let us get to know Kenneth more – if that would make you happy

Leave a Reply

