4 Seasons Of Us

I told her “I’ll be back before the first leaf of autumn touches the pavement”.

It was mid summer and it was time to leave.

For all the passion and heat between us, things were cold.

I waited patiently for things to blossom during Spring.

Things never came to fruition.

Distracted by the glare of the sun I lost myself.

The root of our problems was the lack of growth.

“It’s not you, it’s not me, it’s us” she glared at me, she knew I was flirting with the idea of another season.

It can’t be summer forever.

I’m longing for Autumn where everything is much calmer.

The branches are bare, the floor cushioned and my mind clear.

I’ll be back but I can’t promise I’ll stay.

Hopefully we can reach Winter and hibernate feelings until we’re ready to grow.

The leaf fell.

4 thoughts on “4 Seasons Of Us

Leave a Reply

