12 Rounds Of Forever

I had enough training. I was ready.
My trainer took some severe beatings in his time.
Ex boxer, early retirement, he taught me the ropes.
I stepped in the ring, “keep your guard up” he urged.

Round 1
I analysed, I jabbed, I ducked.

Round 2
I analysed, I jabbed, I ducked.

Round 3
I analysed, I jabbed, I got hit.
“Guard up”

Round 4
I blocked, I jabbed, I hooked

Round 5
I jabbed, I hooked, I hit

Round 6
I hit, I hit, I hit
I saw the damage I caused.
“Do you want to throw in the towel? ” travelled from the opposite corner, met with a resilient “no”

Round 7
I hit, I hit, I got blocked

Round 8
I hit, I got blocked, I got blocked

Round 9
I got blocked, I got blocked, I got blocked
I’ve never been past the 9th round. Uncharted territory.

Round 10
I blocked, I blocked, I got hit

Round 11
I blocked, I got hit, I fell

Round 12
I rose, I got hit, I crumbled
I looked up at her from the canvas, my emotions battered. Her face dripping in tears. My fears shattered and her will stronger than ever. We only reached forever because of her.
The referee raised her hand aloft.
She had won the title.

Mrs.

2 thoughts on “12 Rounds Of Forever

Leave a Reply

